Why Join (who can join?)

Advantages Our Credit Union Has Over Banks

The Iowa Credit Unions have many advantages over banks. Our credit union is not-for-profit and is member-owned. Each member owns the credit union.

We have a volunteer board of directors who are members of the credit union and users of the credit union services.

Excess earnings after reserve requirements are met are applied to lower interest on loans, higher interest on savings or development of new products and services that members have requested.

We are self-governed. Each member has one vote in the election of the board of directors regardless of how much money the individual has deposited in the credit union.

Iowa Credit Unions hold less than 10% of the market share of deposits in Iowa.

Membership is comprised of only those who share a common bond, which include where they work, live or worship.

Member Requirements:

Anyone who lives or works in Henry County or it's surrounding counties (Van Buren, Lee, Jefferson, Des Moines, Washington, Louisa) and their immediate family members.

You must deposit an amount of $ 25.00 and a $1.00 membership fee. New members can take advantage of the varied services offered by the Credit Union.

Links to other services and web sites are provided for information only.
5 Star Community Credit Union is not responsible or liable for the content or availability of these sites.